Castleconnell Tidy Towns

John Hardiman
Phone: (087) 668 8770

The existing Castleconnell Tidy Towns Committee re-formed in 2007 following a long break which was initially triggered by major civil engineering works which were very disruptive to the village of Castleconnell. The Committee meets at least twice a month at 8.00pm on Wednesdays in Bradshaw’s Bar, the meetings are well attended with committee membership currently at 9.

The aims of the Committee are to work to help to make Castleconnell an increasingly pleasant place to live, work or visit. We encourage residents to take an active part in keeping their areas clean and tidy by working with residents committees and by actively involving residents when working in their areas.

Since Castleconnell’s re-entry in the National Tidy Towns Competition in 2008, the results have been improving year on year. In 2008 we received 201 points and in the 2018 competition we received 10 points to bring our total to 320 points. This increase was sufficient to earn Castleconnell its first national award – a Bronze medal.

Current committee members are:

John Hardiman, Linda Hardiman, Pauline Bradshaw, France Clifford, Terry Poole, Margaret Freeney, Eileen McCabe, Mags Byrnes and Anne Hayes